Infant and Pregnancy Loss Remembrance Day

In 1988 Ronald Reagan declared the month of October as Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Month. On October 15th is the Wave of Light.

 

So many people are always asking us why we don’t have kids yet. Instead of making them feel uncomfortable by telling them we have had four miscarriages, I just tell them that we are working on it. Then they follow that up with “it will happen when it is supposed to happen”, or “maybe if you just relax”. I despise people saying these things to me. It honestly helps me so much to talk about it. I just worry too much about how other people feel, and not how I feel. It is always on my heart, and on my mind.

I have a necklace to represent all four of our babies. When I wear it, people are always asking me about it. When I tell them, they always look uncomfortable. I bet they are wishing they never asked. This is my necklace. There are four birthstones that represent the month each of them would have been due. The pink heart is rose quartz for healing.

I will be lighting four candles on the 15th. For more information go to http://www.october15th.com/

 

2 thoughts on “Infant and Pregnancy Loss Remembrance Day

  1. I think your necklace is beautiful and if you and I were talking and you told me what it meant I’d think you were very strong and very loving.

    Just having come through a recent miscarriage I’ve already had a couple of thoughtless comments that were not meant to hurt, but did. I can’t imagine how you must feel when people assume you just need the pointless advice of “just relax”.

Leave a Reply

